Colorado car accident laws: Answering top 4 questions
A huge number of car accidents are a result of negligence, recklessness, and speeding. If you ever get involved in a car accident in Colorado, knowing your rights is important. Every state has its own personal injury & car accident laws, and in this post, we are answering some of the top 4 questions about Colorado car accident laws.
- ‘Do I have a valid claim?’
Just because you were injured in a car accident doesn’t mean you can file a personal injury claim. Establishing liability is critical, and it is equally important to prove that the other person’s disregard for safety or actions has caused the accident, which eventually led to your injuries. Your best bet would be to talk to an experienced Colorado Springs car accident attorney, who can help in evaluating your claim.
- ‘What if I was partially at fault?’
Colorado follows the “modified comparative negligence” rule. This means that if you were awarded compensation but are liable for causing the accident to an extent, your compensation will reduce accordingly. For instance, if your compensation was $10,000 and you had 30% share in the blame, you will only get $7,000 and not the full amount. However, if your share of fault is more than 50%, you cannot recover anything at all.
- ‘Should I file a lawsuit against the at-fault party?’
Right after an accident, you are required to inform the police, if the accident caused injury or death of someone or property damage. Next, you need to inform your insurance company and file a compensation claim with the at-fault party’s insurer. If the insurance company denies your claim, or doesn’t offer a fair compensation, you can take things to court, to ask for a bigger settlement.
- ‘Do I really need to hire a lawyer?’
There is no law that states that you have to hire a car accident lawyer in Colorado. However, if you have suffered permanent disabilities or serious injuries, you may want to consult a lawyer. Also, there is the “statute of limitations” in Colorado, which allows for just three years to file a lawsuit, counting from the date of accident. In other words, you need to act quick, and legal expertise is always handy.
Dealing with insurance companies and understanding personal injury laws in Colorado may take a lot of time. Instead of struggling with the basics, hire an accident attorney to deal with your case.